South Africa win Perth ODI; displace Australia as no.1

Perth: South Africa registered a convincing 35-run victory in the fifth and final one-day international against Australia at the WACA in Perth on Friday to clinch the series by a convincing 4-1 margin and in the process displacing Australia as the number one team in the ICC Rankings in ODIs. | Scorecard

South Africa have no doubt been one of the most successful teams in one-day cricket over the last three years. In 2007, they won 19 of their 30 ODIs, while in 2008 they won 12 of the 17 ODIs. This year they have a 4-1 win-loss record from five matches. That converts to an impressive success rate of 67% in the last three seasons.

Fielding an inexperienced team – in the absence of Jacques Kallis, Mark Boucher, Makhaya Ntini, Dale Steyn and injured skipper Graeme Smith – South Africa registered a handsome total of 288 – thanks largely to half-centuries by Hashim Amla (97), AB de Villiers (60) and a late flourish from JP Duminy who remained unbeaten on 60. In reply, the Aussies were bundled out for 249 in 49 overs as debutant left-arm pacer Lonwabo Tsotsobe claimed four wickets.

In pursuit of 289 runs, Australia were reeling at 53-4 at one stage, until the Hussey brothers – Michael (78) and David (32) – resurrected the innings. A late flourish from wicketkeeper batsman Brad Haddin (63) kept them in the hunt but it was never going to be enough as South Africa outclassed them in every department of the game.

Hashim Amla was the man of the match for his superlative knock of 97 that formed the cornerstone of the innings while Albie Morkel won the man of the series award for his outstanding performance with the bat.